The day-to-day work of takeover supervision and regulation is carried out by the Panel Executive. In carrying out these functions, the Executive operates independently of the Panel. This includes, either on its own initiative or at the instigation of third parties, the conduct of investigations, the monitoring of relevant dealings in connection with the Code and the giving of rulings on the interpretation, application or effect of the Code. The Executive is available both for consultation and also the giving of rulings on the interpretation, application or effect of the Code before, during and, where appropriate, after takeovers or other relevant transactions.

The Executive is staffed by a mixture of employees and secondees from law firms, accountancy firms, corporate brokers, investments banks and other organisations. It is headed by the Director General, usually an investment banker on secondment.

In the membership lists that follow, secondees are indicated with an asterisk: *

Officers of the Panel:

  • Ian Hart, UBS – Director General*
  • James Arculus – Deputy Director General
  • Charlie Crawshay – Deputy Director General
  • Chris Jillings – Deputy Director General
  • John Dovey – Assistant Director General
  • Jeremy Evans – Assistant Director General
  • Tamara Young, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer – Secretary*

Case Officers:

  • Dipika Shah – Senior Assistant Secretary
  • Sam Cann, Peel Hunt – Assistant Secretary*
  • Mark Hutt – Assistant Secretary
  • Ellen Lake, Clifford Chance – Assistant Secretary (Investigations/Enforcement)*
  • Valentina Proverbio, RBC Capital Markets – Assistant Secretary*
  • Emmett Saigal, Cleary Gottlieb Steen and Hamilton – Assistant Secretary*

Market Surveillance:

  • Rosalind Gray – Head of Market Surveillance and Head of Information Technology
  • Craig Andrews – Deputy Head of Market Surveillance
  • Clive Davidson
  • Peter Margetts
  • Jack Sanderson

Exempt Groups:

  • Susan Powell – Head of Exempt Groups
  • Ian Ripley

Policy and Revision:

  • John Dovey – Head of Policy and Revision
  • Justine Usher

Administration and Support Group:

  • Alex Tetley – Chief Operating Officer
  • Sasha Hill – Head of Support Group
  • Theresa Scott
  • Ann Snaith
  • Ila Jamal – Accounts